The Shire of Corrigin has seven (7) Councillors with three (3) or four (4) ordinary vacancies alternating every (2) years. Under the Local Government Act 1995, Council is required to hold elections on the third Saturday in October every two years. The next local government elections will take place in 2019.

Enrolling to Vote

You may be eligible to vote in in-person local government elections if you live in or are an owner or occupier of rateable property in the Shire of Corrigin.


You are automatically enrolled if you are on the state Electoral Roll. Enrollment forms are available from the local Post Office or Electoral Commission Offices.

Non-Resident Owners and Occupiers

If you are a non-resident owner or occupier of rateable property in the Shire of Corrigin, you are eligible to enrol to vote and should make an application directly to the Shire of Corrigin. Enrolment forms are available from the Shire Office.

Thinking of Becoming a Councillor?

Local Government Councillors are elected by people who live and do business in the local Council area and / or own property within the local government and have registered to vote.

Councillors play an important community leadership role and create policies and resolve decisions that the Council makes about what happens locally.

To be eligible to run for Council you must be:

  • 18 years or older; and
  • An elector of the district

Potential candidates are encouraged and welcome to contact the Council's Chief Executive Officer, for a confidential conversation by phoning (08) 9063 2203 or arranging a meeting with that officer and/or by contacting one of the existing elected members of the Council.
Contact details for the Shire of Corrigin elected members can be found here.

For further candidate information click on the links to the Department of Local Government's website or the WA Electoral Commission's website.  

Department of Local Government - Standing for Council (Information for Candidates)

Western Australian (WA) Electoral Commission - Information for Candidates and Electors