

Local Emergency Management Committee Meeting

Minutes

Thursday 28 February 2019

1.00pm

Venue: Council Chambers, 9 Lynch Street Corrigin

1.0 NAME

The Committee shall be known as the Corrigin Local Emergency Management Committee ('Committee').

2.0 ROLE OF THE COMMITTEE

To assist the Local Emergency Coordinators (Officers in Charge of the Corrigin Police District) to develop and maintain effective emergency management arrangements for the Shire of Corrigin.

3.0 OBJECTIVES OF THE COMMITTEE

- To advise and assist the Shire of Corrigin in ensuring that local emergency management arrangements are established for its district.
- To liaise with public authorities and other persons in the development, review and testing of local emergency management arrangements.
- To assist with the preparation and approval of the Corrigin Local Emergency Management Plan and submit such plans to the Office of Emergency Management (OEM) for approval.
- To review at least annually the Corrigin Local Emergency Management Plan.
- To assist in the preparation of emergency management operating procedures for application in the Shire of Corrigin.
- To ensure appropriate testing and exercising of the local emergency management plan.
- To prepare an annual report of the activities of the Committee for submission to the OEM.
- To provide assistance to the Local Emergency Coordinators and Lead Combat Authorities during emergency management operations.
- To carry out such other emergency management functions as directed by OEM.

4.0 MEMBERSHIP

The Council appoints to the Committee those ex-officio representatives whose titles appear below. Membership of the Committee shall, unless otherwise specified, be for a term ceasing at the date of the Local Government election in the year the Shire's local government elections are held, after which time the Council may appoint members for a further term.

Membership of the Committee shall be:

- The President of the Shire of Corrigin
- Deputy Shire President
- The Officer in Charge of the Corrigin Police District or delegate(s)
- The Officer in Charge of the Fire and Rescue Service in Corrigin or their delegates
- The Shire's Chief Bush Fire Control Officer
- The SES Area Manager or delegate
- The Officers in Charge of the St John Ambulance District of Corrigin or delegate
- A health representative from the Corrigin Hospital
- An officer from the Department for Child Protection and Family Support
- Representatives from other agencies as required

5.0 MEETING PROCEEDINGS

Each meeting of the LEMC should consider, but not be restricted to, the following matters, as appropriate:

Every meeting:

- Confirmation of local emergency management arrangements contacts details and key holders;
- Review of any post-incident reports and post exercise reports generated since last meeting;
- o Progress of emergency risk management process;
- Progress of treatment strategies arising from emergency risk management process;
- Progress of development or review of local emergency management arrangements; and
- Other matters determined by the local government.

• First quarter:

- Development and approval of next financial year LEMC exercise schedule (to be forwarded to relevant DEMC);
- Begin developing annual business plan.

• Second quarter:

- Preparation of LEMC annual report (to be forwarded to relevant DEMC for inclusion in the SEMC annual report);
- Finalisation and approval of annual business plan.

• Third quarter:

o Identify emergency management projects for possible grant funding.

• Fourth quarter:

• National and State funding nominations.

1. DECLARATION OF OPENING

Chairperson, Cr Lyn Baker opened the meeting at 1.01pm.

2. ATTENDANCE AND APOLOGIES

Attendance Cr Lyn Baker, Shire President/Chairperson Natalie Manton, Chief Executive Officer Julia Baker, Governance Executive Officer Sergeant Carmel Morgan, Corrigin Police Grant Hansen, Department Fire and Emergency Services Area Officer, Narrogin East

Apologies

Rodney Thornton, Road Safety Advisor, Wheatbelt South – WALGA Heather Prance, Principle, Corrigin District High School Alison Lacey, Department of Primary Industries and Regional Development Michelle Hooper, Chair of St John Ambulance, Corrigin Tana Burgess, St John Ambulance Dino Di Fulvo, Corrigin Volunteer Fire & Rescue Lucy Reed, Health Services Manager, Corrigin District Hospital

3. MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

Minutes of the LEMC meeting held on 3 December 2018 (attachment 3)

Moved: G Hansen Seconded: C Morgan

That the minutes of the Shire of Corrigin Local Emergency Management Committee meeting held on Monday 3 December 2018 be confirmed as a true and accurate record.

Carried

4. REVIEW OF LEMC DOCUMENTS

Moved: G Hansen Seconded: C Morgan

That the Committee accept the minor suggested changes from Adam Smith, District Emergency Management Advisor, DFES and incorporate them into the following documents adopted in December 2018.

- Local Emergency Management Arrangements
- Local Recovery Management Plan
- Local Emergency Management Plan for the Provision of Welfare Support
- Emergency Evacuation Plan

Carried

5. REVIEW OF INCIDENTS AND EXERCISES

There were no incidents or exercises to report since the previous meeting.

6. DEVELOPMENT OF FUTURE EXERCISES

Conduct radio testing to identify whether emergency services (Police, DFES, and Ambulance) can communicate via radio. Post testing develop a procedure to be used in case of emergency.

Scheduled for July or September 2019.

7. REPORTS TO STATE EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE NIL

8. IDENTIFY EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT PROJECTS

Committee to consider new lights at the Corrigin airstrip as the Royal Flying Doctor Service have reported problems with the quality of the existing lights and remote control activation switch.

9. FUNDING

Shire to consider apply for funding to cover new lights at the airstrip.

10. OTHER MATTERS

Deputy Recovery Coordinator Discussion was held on filling the vacant position of Deputy Recovery Officer. CEO to consult neighbouring shires regarding options for this position.

11. NEXT MEETING

The next meeting will be Monday 27 May 2019 at 1.00pm.

12. MEETING CLOSURE

Chairperson, Cr Lyn Baker closed the meeting at 1.52pm.